State Rep. Smashes Homeless Peoples’ Stuff With a Sledgehammer | Alternet

State Rep. Smashes Homeless Peoples\’ Stuff With a Sledgehammer | Alternet.

As one of my fav Clutter Cleaners Matt Paxton has said, “We are all just five decisions away from shitting in a bucket.” No one is immune and Mister-Smash-And-Grab may find himself homeless one day.

I was homeless for a short time in my late teens. I had my car, clothes and my toolbox in the trunk, a loaf of bread and a can of tangerines. A good night’s sleep was something that had become foreign to me, trying to sleep in the car in a bad area of town just outside the property line of an industrial/port business that my ex worked security for. In the daytime, we had to keep moving to not get in trouble for “loitering” but I had to be careful not to use up too much gas. That was after we had hopped from house to house of various family and friends and wearing out our welcomes. It was an awful time in my life and I cannot imagine loosing what I had then. I know that it is entirely possible to end up there again. It was a humbling experience that I turned into a life lesson.

I used to volunteer at a homeless shelter way back when. I really should make time to do so again. I do offer money when I have it and have even taken someone asking for money to get some food when I don’t carry cash. I know a lot of people (I used to be one of them) don’t like giving cash for fear of it going to a vice but I had a change of heart. If they use drugs or alcohol to cope, that is their business. Also, if they cannot get a fix, especially with alcohol, there is always a risk that withdrawal could kill them.

What do YOU do to help homeless people? What are some ways that can help the issue of homelessness?

Leave a Reply

